9 district courts in Delhi now | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

9 district courts in Delhi now

delhi Updated: May 16, 2008 00:51 IST
Satya Prakash/Naziya Alvi
Satya Prakash/Naziya Alvi
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

There will now be nine district courts in Delhi. The Supreme Court on Thursday upheld a Delhi government notification dividing the National Capital Territory into nine civil districts.

“We are of the view that the notification issued by the Lt Governor dividing Delhi into nine civil districts was validly issued,” a Bench said, dismissing a petition filed by the Delhi Bar Association (DBA) challenging the June 28, 2000 notification, that was aimed at streamlining the judicial administration and deal with the problem of arrears of cases.

There courts will be in New Delhi, South Delhi, North Delhi, North-West Delhi, Central Delhi, East Delhi, North-East Delhi, West Delhi and South-West Delhi.

DBA President Rajiv Khosla said lawyers at Tis Hazari would go a two-day strike from Friday. Bar leaders of Patiala House and Karkardooma Courts, however, welcomed the order.