AAP rift: Now, Yadav and Bhushan stripped of party spokesperson post | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

AAP rift: Now, Yadav and Bhushan stripped of party spokesperson post

delhi Updated: Apr 01, 2015 03:16 IST
AAP crisis


The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) sacked dissident leader Yogendra Yadav as chief spokesperson of the party and removed rebel leaders Prashant Bhushan and Anand Kumar as spokespersons while announcing a new 20-member panel packed with Arvind Kejriwal loyalists on Tuesday night.

Atishi Marlena, who was one of the prominent spokespersons of the party during the election campaign, was also dropped.

The removal of Yadav, Bhushan and Kumar came four days after they were expelled from the national executive at the party's national council meeting after being accused of indulging in anti-party activities. Bhushan was on Sunday removed as the chief of party's disciplinary committee as well.

The AAP has been embroiled in an internecine war in recent days, with the party sacking senior leaders Bhushan and Yadav from the political affairs committee, its highest decision-making body, on March 4.

The rookie party has been struggling to paper over the cracks after a series of leaked letters revealed two camps -- one supporting Kejriwal and the other comprising veterans like Yadav and Prashant who say the chief minister is dictatorial. They questioned what they described as "a one-person centric" campaign in Delhi, a veiled dig at Kejriwal.

New panel of spokespersons include Sanjay Singh, Kumar Vishwas, Ilyas Azmi and Pankaj Gupta, Ashutosh and Ashish Khetan, all known to be close to Kejriwal.

The other members in the panel are MLAs Saurabh Bharadwaj, Adarsh Shastri, Kapil Mishra and Alka Lamba and MP Bhagwant Mann.

Senior advocate HS Phoolka and Rahul Mehra will also interact with the media. The party has also retained Raghav Chaddha in the panel.

In the states, the party has appointed Preeti Sharma Menon as spokesperson in Maharashtra, Prithvi Reddy in Karnataka,
Akshay Hunka in Madhya Pradesh and Nishikant Mohapatra in Odisha.

Richa Pandey Mishra, a key leader of party' women wing too has found a place in the panel.