Ace shooter in BJP’s poll list | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Ace shooter in BJP’s poll list

delhi Updated: Jan 29, 2009 23:46 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Jaspal Rana, India’s ace shooter and two-time gold winner in Asian Games was named the BJP’s candidate for the Tehri Lok Sabha. Rana is BJP president Rajnath Singh’s daughter-in-law’s brother.

The BJP’s central election committee on Thursday also decided to field 17 candidates from the CPI(M)-dominated West Bengal. Former Marxist MP from Rajya Sabha, Bratin Sengupta, who was removed from his party for attending a dinner hosted by former Prime Minister A B Vajpayee in 2001, would be BJP nominee from Barasat constituency.

A former IPS officer, Dawa Sherpa, would contest as the party candidate from Darjeeling. Former Union Minister Satya Brata Mookherjee would be fielded from Krishnagar, the seat won by him once in 1999.

With Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar wishing to stay out of the fray, Narendra Sawaikar would be BJP nominee from South Goa (Mormugao). The party had already declared former Union Minister and sitting MP Sripad Naik for North Goa seat.

In Uttar Pradesh, where the BJP had announced 12 names on Wednesday, Noida’s Kailash Hospital founder Dr Mahesh Sharma was named the nominee for Goutam Buddh Nagar seat. Among 15 other names from UP, Kamlesh Katheriya was named for Etawah, Lallu Singh for Faizabad, and Gen Prakashmani Tripathi for Deoria.

Among the candidates from Uttarakhand were former Union Minister Bacchi Singh Rawat (Nainital- Uddhamsingh Nagar), Ajay Tamta (Almora-SC) and Madan Kaushik (Haridwar). .

In Karnataka, where the BJP declared candidates for nine seats, six sitting MPs, including party general secretary Ananth Kumar (Bangalore South), D V Sadananda Gowda (Udupi-Chikmagalur), and Prahalad Joshi (Dharwad), made it to the list. The total number of LS candidates announced by the BJP is now 100.

Chief Ministers’ meet

Meanwhile, BJP’s Prime Minister candidate L K Advani, and other leaders, discussed the poll strategy with party chief ministers including Narendra Modi (Gujarat), B S Yeddyurappa (Karnataka), Shivraj Singh Chauhan (MP), Raman Singh (Chattisgarh), and P K Dhumal (Himachal). Advani wanted good governance and delivery under the NDA regime and in BJP-ruled states to be projected in the campaign, which would also ‘aggressively’ expose the UPA’s track record, senior BJP leader Venkaiah Naidu said. Crisis in agriculture, economic downturn and terrorism would also be part of the poll plank.