Ahead of polls, seven councillors join BJP | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 23, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Ahead of polls, seven councillors join BJP

delhi Updated: Aug 01, 2013 00:41 IST
HT Correspondent

As the assembly elections draw near, defection of workers from one party to another has begun. Seven sitting councillors- independents and from other parties - joining the BJP on Wednesday.

The councillors were inducted by BJP state president Vijay Goel and co-in charge of Delhi BJP Navjot Singh Sidhu. Welcoming the councillors, Goel said the people of Delhi and the country were fed up with the Congress' 'misrule'.

"Corruption and price rise under the rule of Congress have broken the back of the general public. People want to get rid of it and they see a ray of hope in the BJP," said Goel. The national capital is slated to go to the polls in November this year.

The councillors included Suresh Garg, Krishna Kumar Sehrawat and Pramod Tanwar who had left the BJP and contested as independents in the last civic polls in 2012.

Rahul Pradbhudayal and Chander Prakash are from the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Janata Dal (United), respectively. Pradeep Kumar had contested as an independent candidate while Naresh Balyan contested the 2012 polls independently and was earlier with the Congress.

"The BJP has been supporting our demands. It is concerned about our demands and more people from the BSP will join the party soon," said Dayal. Goel slammed the Delhi government for the power tariff hike. He renewed the promise that tariff will be slashed by 30 per cent if BJP comes to power in Delhi.