Army doctor awarded Ashok Chakra posthumously | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Army doctor awarded Ashok Chakra posthumously

delhi Updated: Jan 26, 2011 00:21 IST
HT Correspondent

Major Laishram Jyotin Singh, an unarmed army doctor who killed a suicide bomber in Kabul last year, will be posthumously awarded the country's highest peacetime gallantry award, Ashok Chakra, by President Pratibha Patil on Republic Day.

On the morning of February 16, 2010, suicide attackers stormed an Indian residential complex in the heart of the Afghan capital, housing mostly army officials.

One of the terrorists blew himself up at the gates of the complex, killing three guards, as others made their way inside.

The attackers fired indiscriminately and hurled grenades, going from one room to the other. Sixteen people were killed in the two-hour assault.

The terrorists lobbed a grenade on a room in which five unarmed officers had taken shelter.

The fire on the roof engulfed an adjacent bathroom where five more officers had taken refuge.

On hearing their shouts, the 37-year-old major crawled out of the debris and charged at one of the suicide bombers and pinned him to the floor, preventing the attacker from reaching his colleagues.

Unable to escape from Major Singh's grip, the attacker panicked and detonated his explosive-laden vest killing himself the officer who had arrived there just three days back.

Singh, a native of Manipur, was commissioned into the Army Medical Corps in February 2003.

The 440 gallantry awards approved by President Patil on Tuesday include five Kirti Chakra, 21 Shaurya Chakra, five Bar to Sena Medal (gallantry), 135 Sena Medal (gallantry), two Nao Sena Medal (gallantry), three Vayu Sena Medal (gallantry), 28 Param Vishisht Seva Medal, four Uttam Yudh Seva Medal, 51 Ati Vishisht Seva Medal and four Yudh Seva Medal.

The second highest peacetime gallantry award, Kirti Chakra, will be given to Maj Rahul Gurung (Corps of Engineers/ 12 Assam Rifles), Capt Deepak Sharma (Corps of Signals/ 42 Rashtryia Rifles-posthumous), Lt Vikas Sharma (6 Para), Lt Vikrant Ajit Deshmukh (8 Madras) and Naik Rajinder Singh (2 Rajputana Rifles).

Major Gurung and his team killed five terrorists in Manipur's Ukhrul district last year in multiple ambushes. Displaying undaunted bravery and inspirational courage, Gurung killed two terrorists.

On March 4, 2010, Capt Deepak Sharma killed three terrorists holed up in a building near Jamia Masjid in Kashmir's Pulwama district.

The building could not be cleared by any means other than intervention due to its proximity to the mosque. He sustained a gunshot wound in the neck during the firefight and succumbed to his injuries.

Lt Vikas Sharma killed three terrorists in J&K's Bandipore forest last August.

The third-highest peacetime gallantry award, Shaurya Chakra, will be conferred on Col Neeraj Sood (Rajputana Rifles/ 18RR-posthumous), Maj Sanjeev Haryal (arty/ 315 Field Regiment), Maj Rakesh Rawat (Jammu and Kashmir Rifles/ 52RR), Maj Manish Baral (Mahar/ 30RR), Capt Manendra Pratap Singh (Army Service Corps/ 8 Mahar), Lt Vikram Bahadur Singh (Army Service Corps/ 3 Madras), Hav Dayal Singh (8 Garhwal Rifles-posthumous), Naik Vijay Pal (16 Jat), L/Naik Mohammad Shaffi (156 Infantry Battalion TA/ 58RR), L/Naik Praveen Thakur (12 Jammu and Kashmir Rifles), L/Naik Anoop Kumar Sharma (Arty/ 30RR-posthumous), L/Naik KS Kharwung (1 Naga), Sepoy Channalli Basavaraj (19 Madras), Sepoy Ravinder Singh (16 Jat), Sepoy Shailesh Kumar Singh (Bihar/ 63RR-posthumous), Sepoy Sangat Singh (Mahar/ 30 RR-posthumous), Sepoy Vijay Singh Bohara (Naga/ 60RR), Rifleman Udhay Singh (2 Rajputana Rifles), Rifleman Milap Singh (31 Assam Rifles) Paratrooper Kapil Dev (1 Para) and Flight Lieutenant Manish Arora (flying-pilot).
Bar to Sena Medal (gallantry): Maj KU Karumbiah (4Gorkha Rifles/ 29 Assam Rifles), Maj Saurabh Shah (15 Dogra), Maj Rajiv Shankar (Army Service Corps/ 55RR), Capt Sandeep Sreedharan (Maratha Light Infantry/39 Assam Rifles) and Capt Ishwar Singh Rawat (16 Jat)