Arvind Kejriwal to contest from New Delhi seat | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Arvind Kejriwal to contest from New Delhi seat

delhi Updated: Dec 25, 2014 04:22 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Arvind Kejriwal

Aam Aadmi Party national convenor and former Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal will contest the assembly elections from the New Delhi constituency.

The party announced a list of eight candidates on Wednesday, its fifth so far, taking the total names announced to 59.

The BJP and the Congress are yet to start the process.

By the time all remaining names are announced in the next two lists, the party is likely to end up dropping 35 of its 2013 candidates, including a maximum of nine outgoing MLAs. This is because the party is looking to field those who can win, and is fighting dissidence.

Kejriwal defeated three-time chief minister Sheila Dikshit in 2013 in the constituency by over 26,000 votes. He then headed a minority government for 49 days.

“The BJP and the Congress were trying to send a message that Kejriwal would change his seat. Had we not declared his name, then it would have sent a wrong signal,” said a party leader.

After the announcement of Kejriwal’s name, the Delhi BJP attacked the AAP, saying it had said that it would announce the name of Arvind Kejriwal as its last candidate, but it suddenly took the U-turn.

AAP has given ticket to former deputy Speaker of Delhi Legislative Assembly Fateh Singh from Gokulpuri. A former BJP leader, Singh had joined AAP last week.

BJP Delhi media-incharge Praveen Shankar Kapoor condemned Amanutullah Khan’s candidature from Okhla Assembly seat. “Khan was accused of putting up posters and hoardings which could have created communal disturbance,” he said.