ASEAN summit: Movement of VIP vehicles to affect traffic in city | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

ASEAN summit: Movement of VIP vehicles to affect traffic in city

delhi Updated: Dec 19, 2012 00:46 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Hindustan times

The national Capital's two busy arterial roads — Sardar Patel Marg and Maulana Azad Road — would be off limits for hours during the forthcoming ASEAN-India Special Commemorative summit, to be hosted by New Delhi on 20th and 21st December.

Keeping security of the VVIPs in view and also in a bid to ensure their smooth movement during the event, the Delhi Police will suspend movement of general vehicles on the two roads.

While Sardar Patel Marg that connects Dhaula Kuan with Panchsheel Marg will be closed for general traffic between 3pm and 7.30pm on Thursday and between 11.30am and 2.30pm on Friday, Maulana Azad Road, connecting Janpath with Mansingh Road, would be off limits for general traffic between 6am and 12.30pm on Friday.

"These are the two corridors on which maximum movement of VVIPs will take place. Motorists should avoid New Delhi areas on these two days to avoid being held up at junctions for long," said Satyendra Garg, joint commissioner of police (traffic). The heads of states/governments of participating countries will be staying in different five star hotels in New Delhi area. They will visit Rashtrapati Bhawan, Vigyan Bhawan and the venue of the event (undisclosed on security grounds).

However, traffic police would ensure unhindered movement on certain routes from different parts of the city during these two days, Garg said.

These corridors will include Ring Road from Dhaula Kuan to AIIMS, Aurobindo Marg, Lodhi Road, Mathura Road, Purana Qila Road, C-Hexagon, Ashok Road, Baba

Kharak Singh Marg, Park Street, roundabout Shankar Road and Upper Ridge Road up to Dhaula Kuan.

The summit will be attended by heads of states/ governments of Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, ASEAN secretary general and prime minister of India.