Ashok Chakra, Kirti Chakras announced | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Ashok Chakra, Kirti Chakras announced

delhi Updated: Jan 25, 2010 15:54 IST

One Ashok Chakra, six Kirti Chakras and 26 Shaurya Chakras, the top three awards for gallantry during peacetime, were among the 442 awards for armed forces and security personnel announced on Monday on the eve of Republic Day.

"Havildar Rajesh Kumar of 11 Rajputana Rifles has been awarded the Ashok Chakra posthumously. On Republic Day, the president will confer three Ashok Chakras, including two announced earlier on (Independence Day) August 15 last year," a defence ministry official said Monday.

The other two recipients are Major Mohit Sharma (posthumous) and Major D. Sreeram Kumar.

Sub-Inspector Bhopal Singh of the Sashastra Seema Bal and Constable Rel Deo Sangma of the Meghalaya police were also named for the Kirti Chakra.

Two officials of the Border Roads Organisation were among those awarded the Shaurya Chakra.