Bhupen, Shabana, Mira Nair among Padma awardees | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Bhupen, Shabana, Mira Nair among Padma awardees

delhi Updated: Jan 25, 2012 23:49 IST
HT Correspondent

The government on Wednesday announced the names of winners for 109 Padma awards on the eve of the Republic Day. The winners this year include 19 women.

Five Padma Vibhushan awardees include the legendary singer composer, late Bhupen Hazarika, who passed away on November 5. Former governor and former Intelligence Bureau chief TV Rajeshwar has also been chosen for the award. Actress Shabana Azmi, film director Mira Nair and US-based NRI educationist Vidya Deheja are among the 27 Padma Bhushan awardees.

Former chief vigilance commissioner N Vittal, former ambassador Ronen Sen, painter Jatin Das, film star and former BJP MP Dharmendra and noted cardiologist Dr Devi Shetty will be conferred the Padma Bhushan. Among the 77 Padma Shri winners are woman fast bowler Jhulan Goswami, Odissi dancer Minati Mishra, Lavani artiste Yamunabai Waikar and artist Laila Tayebji.

From the world of trade and commerce, Tata Steel vice-chairman B Muthuraman, Subbiah Murugappa Vellayan of the Murugappa group and chairperson of Apeejay Surrendra Park Hotels, Priya Paul are among the seven people who will get Padma Awards.

Muthuraman and Subbiah have been selected for the Padma Bhushan, Paul along with Piramal Healthcare director Swati Piramal, Kinetic group chairman Arun Hastimal Firodia will be conferred the Padma Shri awards.

Apart from Dr Shetty, orthopedician Dr Kantilal Hastimal Sancheti, neurologist Dr Noshir H Wadia and oncologist Dr Suresh H Advani are among the doctors who will be conferred the Padma awards.