Birla award honours littérateurs | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Birla award honours littérateurs

delhi Updated: Jan 15, 2009 23:07 IST
HT Correspondent

Dr Hari Narayan Dikshit has been chosen for the seventeenth Vachaspati Puraskar for 2008 for his work in the epic


The award, instituted by the K.K. Birla Foundation in 1992 to honour a writer for his or her work in Sanskrit during the past 10 years, carries prize money of Rs 1.5 lakh.

According to the Foundation, the 2008 Bihari Puraskar will be given to poet Nand Bhardwaj for his poetry Hai Doob Ka Sapna. The Rs 1 lakh award, meant for literary works of Hindi or Rajasthani writers belonging to Rajasthan, is known as the Bihari Puraskar after the famous Hindi poet Bihari.

The Foundation has awarded the Shankar Puraskar for 2008 to Devendra Raj Ankur for Rangmanch Ka Soundrayashastra. The Rs 1.5-lakh award is given to an outstanding work on Indian philosophy, culture and art.