BJP announces third list for MP polls | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 05, 2016-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP announces third list for MP polls

delhi Updated: Nov 03, 2008 16:34 IST

Highlight Story

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday announced its third list of 38 candidates for the assembly polls in Madhya Pradesh, where it is in power.

"Of the 38 seats finalised on Monday, nine seats will see a change in their sitting MLAs. Altogether the party has dropped 54 sitting MLAs in the 230-member assembly," party's central Election Committee secretary Ananth Kumar said in New Delhi after a meeting of the apex candidate selection body.

Candidates for the remaining thirteen seats will be announced by party chief Rajnath Singh in a couple of days, he added.

The party has announced sitting MP Ramkrishna Kusamaria to contest from Pathariya assembly constituency while it has changed the seat of state PWD Minister Kailash Vijayvargiya from Indore to Mhow. Former MP Fulchand Verma will contest from Sonkutch reserved constituency.

Supporters of various candidates blocked the main gates of the party headquarters shouting slogans in support of their leaders as the meeting of the CEC were progressing inside.

The assemly elctions in the state are slated to be held on November 27.