BJP names 12 leaders for UP elections | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP names 12 leaders for UP elections

delhi Updated: Jan 29, 2009 00:32 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The BJP’s central election committee on Wednesday named 12 candidates for the Lok Sabha polls from Uttar Pradesh, indicating that the party could be close to a tie-up with Ajit Singh-led Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD).

It named Hukum Singh Gurjar for Kairana seat, which is held by Ajit Singh’s close associate, Anuradha Choudhary, who has indicated that she would be contesting from Muzaffarnagar constituency.

The BJP announced Krishna Raj has its nominee for Shahjahanpur where the sitting MP is Union Miniser Jitin Prasad. The candidates declared on Wednesday were for the seats currently held by the Samajwadi Party. Last week, the RLD had helped the BJP pick two seats in the UP Legislative Council.

“Till now we have declared candidates for 32 Lok Sabha seats from UP. The social combination in the state has been kept in mind while selecting the candidates,” BJP general secretary Ananth Kumar said.

The BJP is yet to declare candidate for Lucknow (Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s constituency) and Eta (from where Kalyan Singh had been announced as a candidate earlier). The BJP has only nine sitting MPs out of 80.

SP bats for Kalyan

Stung by the Congress criticism of the Samajwadi Party’s growing bonhomie with former CM Kalyan Singh, party general secretary Amar Singh hit out against the Congress by questioning the role of former Prime Minister P.V. Narsimaha Rao and then HRD Minister Arjun Singh in the demolition of the Babri mosque in December 1992. “Why did Arjun Singh cancel his agitation program at Ayodhya on December 4 after a meeting with the then Chief Minister Kalyan Singh?” the SP leader asked.