BJP to announce list by March 13 | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP to announce list by March 13

delhi Updated: Mar 10, 2009 00:52 IST
HT Correspondent

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is all set to announce its candidates from the seven Delhi Parliamentary seat on March 13. The party’s state unit has already sent a panel of 14 candidates to the Central Election Committee.

“We are ready with our list. We are just waiting for a call from the Central Election Committee. The candidates names may be finalised by Friday,” said OP Kohli, Delhi BJP chief.

Ticket seekers have already started hectic parleys. BJP sources said that the state unit has shortlisted two candidates from each of the seven Lok Sabha seat. While from the New Delhi seat, the names doing the round include that of former MP Vijay Goel and yesteryear’s Bollywood star Hema Malini, from the south Delhi constituency the two names doing the round include Tughlaqabad MLA Ramesh Bidhuri and former Delhi chief minister Sahib Singh Verma’s son Parvesh Verma. Verma, however, is keen to fight from west Delhi seat. Jagdish Mukhi, BJP MLA from Janakpuri is vying for ticket from the west Delhi seat.

Former Delhi BJP president Harsh Vardhan and former MP BL Sharma’s name has been shortlisted from East Delhi while from North-East the names of Kirti Azad is doing the round. MCD councillor Vijender Gupta is vying for a ticket from Chandni Chowk seat.

From North-West seat the names of former mayor Meera Kanwaria and former MP Anita Arya are doing the round.