Capital to have four more socio-cultural centres | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 21, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Capital to have four more socio-cultural centres

delhi Updated: Mar 18, 2013 00:27 IST
Sidhartha Roy
Sidhartha Roy
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The Capital will soon get four more socio-cultural centres on the lines of the India Habitat Centre. Work on the first such centre, in Dwarka, will soon start even as plans are being finalised for the other three.

The socio-cultural hubs are being built by the Delhi Development Authority (DDA) across four zones in the city --- north, south, east and west. The centre in west zone, in Dwarka's Sector 11, will be spread across 10 acres and is envisaged as the cultural nerve centre of that part of the Capital.

Two other centres will come up in north-west Delhi's Pitampura and the central business district Shahdara in east Delhi. The site for the socio-cultural centre for south Delhi is still being finalised.

"We want more such socio-cultural hubs in the city because the existing ones, such as the India Habitat Centre and India International Centre, are all located in south Delhi," said a senior DDA official, who didn't wish to be named. "The centres we are planning will be open to all and will cater to socio-cultural needs of the local populace. We are yet to decide whether to introduce the system of permanent memberships at these centres or not," he said.

The centres will have auditoriums and conference halls, exhibition hall, art gallery, cafeteria, guestrooms, library, reading rooms, resource centre and a video library. There will also be a section for senior citizens. The surrounding area will be landscaped with water bodies and pathways.

The design and prototype of the Dwarka centre is ready and DDA is waiting for necessary clearances to go ahead with construction. "All the four centres will be green buildings with terraces on gardens and other measures. At present, various clearances are being sought," said DDA spokesperson Neemo Dhar.

The Dwarka centre will be divided into five main sections with names such as Aaro for cultural section, Aakriti for visual arts, Akshara for library and resource centre, Aatithya for guest houses and Aakhyaan for conference rooms.