CERC chairmanship race hotting up | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

CERC chairmanship race hotting up

delhi Updated: May 14, 2007 23:16 IST

The race for the chairmanship of the Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (CERC), a post vacant since March 24 when AK Basu retired, is hotting up. The front runners have now narrowed down to two: Sampath Kumar, a retired Indian Administrative Officer (IAS) officer, and Surya P Sethi, currently Advisor (Power and Energy) Planning Commission.

"The final interviews have been completed and the names of Sampath Kumar and Surya Seth have been short-listed," said a senior government source. "One of them is expected to take control before July this year."

RV Shahi, former power secretary; VK Garg, current chairman and managing director of the Power Finance Corporation; Ajay Dua, Secretary, Department of Industrial Policy & Promotion; and Bhanu Bhushan, member CERC, too were in the race earlier.

The government had set up a search committee to shortlist the names of candidates for the post of CERC chairman, headed by Kirit Parekh, member Planning Commission, NK Sinha, chairman Public Enterprise Selection Board (PESB), Dr RK Pachauri, director-general of TERI, TK Viswanathan Secretary, Law and Anil Razdan, Secretary, Power.