City gets its eleventh police district | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 30, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

City gets its eleventh police district

delhi Updated: Oct 01, 2008 00:07 IST
HT Correspondent

To improve policing, a new police district - Southeast -- has been created in Delhi. The new district has been formed after bifurcating the existing South district that had 19 police stations.

The new district will include areas like Hazrat Nizamuddin, Sarita Vihar, New Friends Colony, CR Park, Lajpat Nagar and Greater Kailash. It has 15 police stations and is headquartered at Sarita Vihar.

The eleventh police district of Delhi, the Southeast district will also be the largest. However, the idea behind its creation was to reduce the jurisdictional area of police stations for more effective policing.

"If the jurisdictional area of a police station is small, it ensures better maintenance of law and order. There is an increased interface between the common man and the police," said Rajan Bhagat, spokesman for Delhi Police.

Other changes

Delhi Police have also added 11 new police stations, taking the total number of territorial police stations to 132.

Four police stations of Southwest district -- RK Puram, Sarojini Nagar, Vasant Vihar and Vasant Kunj have been merged with the South district, which also gets two new stations: Saket and Neb Sarai. The total number of stations in South district, after the bifurcation, stands at 12.

Chandni Chowk police station has been closed and merged with Kotwali police station, since only a few hundred complaints were registered there. A new police station — Barakhamba Road — has also been created.