Civic body names three halls after former BJP leaders | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Civic body names three halls after former BJP leaders

delhi Updated: Jan 12, 2012 00:19 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

A few months before municipal elections, the BJP-led Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) named two of its meeting halls after former BJP leaders.

The MCD, which is on a spree to name parks, roads and community halls after its leaders, named three meeting halls at its new headquarters, the civic centre — one of the halls was named after the first Mayor of Delhi, Aruna Asaf Ali, a member of the Congress.

The other two were named after former BJP mayors Hans Raj Gupta and Satya Narayan Bansal. The naming ceremony, attended by chairman of BJP parliamentary party LK Advani, saw its own share of controversy with BJP state chief Vijender Gupta rumoured to be unhappy over the fact that his name was not included in the naming board of the newly named halls.

According to sources within the BJP, even former Mayor Aarti Mehra was unhappy as she did not secure a seat on the dais. "The name plate that bears the name of the hall along with the name of dignitaries at the function will have to be redone to accommodate the wishes of Vijender Gupta," said a source.

Gupta, however, said he was unaware of any such developments. "Ideally my name should be on the board but it is hardly a matter of concern. I have no knowledge of whether MCD wants to put up fresh boards," he said.

At the function, however, Advani said there might be ideological differences among the politicians but it should not lead to "untouchability in politics or public life".