Cong sets up five panels, gets ready to brainstorm | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 11, 2016-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Cong sets up five panels, gets ready to brainstorm

delhi Updated: Dec 28, 2012 00:38 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Defence minister AK Antony will head a Congress panel on emerging political challenges, which has been formed for the next month's party meet at Jaipur.

The panel will deliberate on coalition politics in the context of next Lok Sabha elections, scheduled for 2014 with a dominant section in the party arguing for pre-poll alliances with "like-minded" parties.

Apart from Antony, the panel comprises Union home minister Sushil Kumar Shinde, Delhi chief minister Shiela Dikshit, Union finance minister P Chidambaram, information and broadcasting minister Manish Tewari, former Nagaland chief minister SC Jamir and former Youth Congress president Ashok Tanwar.

This sub-group is one of the five panels which have been formed to come out with a draft on various aspects for two-day 'chintan shivir' (brainstorming session) from January 18.

This would be followed by a day-long AICC session on January 20.

While Digvijaya Singh will head the sub group on socio-economic challenges, former external affairs minister SM Krishna is in-charge of the panel on India and the World (foreign policy), CP Joshi on rural development and agriculture and Girija Vyas on organisational strength.

The sub-group on economy comprises V Kishore Chandra Deo, BK Hariprasad, M Veerappa Moily, Charan Das Mahant, Sachin Pilot and Kumari Selja.

The party had earlier constituted a high-level group headed by Congress leader Motilal Vora to oversee the preparations of the meet with former union minister Ambika Soni as its convenor.

More than 300 leaders from across the country would take part in the Jaipur meet of the party, said sources.

The first such 'shivir' was conducted at Pachmarhi in Madhya Pradesh in 1998 soon after Sonia Gandhi took over the reins of the Congress party followed by a second session at Shimla in 2003.