Four DU minority colleges can ignore OBC quota rule | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 22, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Four DU minority colleges can ignore OBC quota rule

delhi Updated: May 31, 2014 01:08 IST
Soibam Rocky Singh
Soibam Rocky Singh
Hindustan Times
OBC quota rule

The Delhi High Court on Friday exempted four minority colleges of Delhi University from reserving 27 percent seats to Other Backward Classes (OBCs) students for the academic year 2014-15.

Justice Manmohan passed the order after hearing a plea filed by Mata Sundari College seeking exemption the rule, as it was a minority-run institution.

In its order the court ruled that four minority DU colleges – Guru Tegh Bahadur Khalsa College, Guru Gobind Singh College, Mata Sundari College and Guru Nanak Dev Khalsa College – will not be obliged to reserve seats for OBC students during the current academic session.

The high court, however, directed the four colleges to provide reservation in admission for Schedule Castes or Scheduled Tribes as per the university’s norms.

All the four institutions are stated to be under the management of Delhi Sikh Gurdwara Management Committee constituted under the Sikh Gurdwara Act, 1971.

Advocate Jasmeet Singh, appearing for the colleges, said that the reservation policy was not applicable to these colleges in view of a Supreme Court verdict on OBC reservations.

The apex court had earlier held that minority educational institutions (MEI), whether they were aided by the government or unaided, were exempted from reserving seats for OBCs, the colleges said in their petition.

On June 18, 2008, these colleges were informed by the University of Delhi that since they are subject to the statutes and ordinances of the University as also the guidelines issued by it, they were expected to follow the provisions regarding OBC reservations in admissions and recruitments.

The colleges then challenged the university order claiming MEI status.

Singh said the National Commission for Minority Educational Institutions (NCMEI) on July 19, 2011 had declared the four colleges as “minority educational institutions within the meaning of Section 2(g) of the National Commission for Minority Educational Institutions Act, 2004.

Tata Tea’s Anthem of apathy
Partnered feature