Front row of Rajya Sabha may see new faces in Monsoon session | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Front row of Rajya Sabha may see new faces in Monsoon session

delhi Updated: Jul 22, 2010 11:31 IST

The front row of Rajya Sabha may have a new look in the Monsoon session beginning Monday with the biennial elections throwing up new winners and losers.

The DMK, whose strength rose from four to seven, appears set to occupy the front row probably at the cost of AIADMK, whose numbers have come down to five from seven. In that case, DMK's Tiruchi Siva could move to the first row.

Similar could be the case of BJD whose leader Pyarimohan Mohapatra may find a place in the front row with his party's numbers increasing from four to six after the polls.

While BSP's graph has risen to 18 from 13, the Samajwadi Party, its arch rival in Uttar Pradesh, has suffered the biggest erosion in its strength.

As the SP's numbers are down to five from 11, it could have to go to the second row if there are more claimants for the front row. The CPI retains its numbers at five.

Along with Leader of Opposition Arun Jaitley and BJP's S S Ahluwalia and M Venkaiah Naidu, the front row will be occupied by Satish Chandra Mishra (BSP), Sitaram Yechury (CPI-M), Shivanand Tiwari (JDU) and Tariq Anwar (NCP).

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh is the Leader of the Rajya Sabha while senior Congress leader Karan Singh is the Deputy leader.

The BSP has emerged as the third largest party in the Rajya Sabha, relegating the CPI(M) to the fourth position as its tally has come down to 15 from 16.

Despite the fact that it won most of the 55 seats in the biennial elections, the UPA still has no majority in the Upper House. The numbers are more or less the same for the ruling alliance and the Congress tally is now 70 including two nominated members. Its strength would go to 71 with a vacancy from Haryana being filled soon.

The strength of Sharad Pawar-led NCP has risen to seven from six while that of Trinamool Congress, another major ally of the UPA, remains at two. The National Conference's tally is also two.

The BJP's strength has gone up from 47 to 49. The party scored victories in Karnataka and Rajasthan, but lost a seat in Jharkhand.

As regards to other NDA allies, there has been no change in the numbers of JD(U), Shiv Sena and Shiromani Akali Dal which continue to be at seven, four and three respectively.