Govt extends visa on arrival facility to four more countries | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Govt extends visa on arrival facility to four more countries

delhi Updated: Dec 30, 2010 23:17 IST
Highlight Story

Government on Thursday extended its tourist visa-on-arrival (TVOA) facility to nationals of Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam and the Philippines from next month.

The TVOA will be allowed for a maximum period of 30 days with single entry facility by immigration officers at Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata Airports.

In order to encourage tourism, the scheme had been introduced for nationals of Japan, Singapore, Finland, Luxembourg and New Zealand from January 1, this year.

"TVOA shall be allowed for a maximum of two times in a calendar year to a foreigner with a minimum gap of two months. TVOA shall be non-extendable and non-convertible," an official statement said.

The visa-on-arrival will be provided only at the designated international airports on payment of a fee of USD 60 or equivalent amount in Indian rupees per passenger including children.

As per the new scheme, to be introduced from new year, the foreigners may also avail TVOA for upto 30 days for medical treatment, for casual business or to visit friends or relatives.

"The scheme has been found to be useful by foreign nationals. Up to November 2010, 5,664 nationals availed the facility of TVOA," it said.

"The TVOA facility shall not be applicable to the holders of Diplomatic or Official Passports. Further, TVOA shall not be granted to foreigners who have permanent residence or occupation in India. Such persons can visit India on normal visa, as applicable," the statement added.