In four years, 15 more colonies will connect with Delhi Metro | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

In four years, 15 more colonies will connect with Delhi Metro

delhi Updated: Mar 24, 2012 01:51 IST
Subhendu Ray
Subhendu Ray
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The perennial problem related to safe and hassle-free commuting by thousands of Delhiites is finally going to be ease in four years.

At least 3.3 lakh residents living in 15 prominent residential colonies in Delhi would start using the Metro on a regular basis, according to a traffic survey conducted by Delhi Metro.

These residential colonies —mostly in South Delhi — would be connected to the Metro network for the first time after completion of the construction under the ongoing phase 3 project of Delhi Metro in 2016.

These colonies are Palam, Vasant Vihar, Munirka, RK Puram, Panchsheel Park, Greater Kailash, Chittaranjan Park, Naraina, Moti Bagh, Bhikaji Cama Place, Sarojini Nagar, Sriniwaspuri, Ashram in south Delhi, Shalimar Bagh, Rohini Sector 18 and 19 in north Delhi and Badli in northwest Delhi.

"The corridors in Phase 3 have been designed in such a way that many residential areas which were suffering due to absence of Metro connectivity would be brought under its ambit," said Anuj Dayal, chief spokesperson of Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC).

According to a senior Metro official, this would be a step forward towards its goal to provide last mile connectivity to almost all residential colonies in Delhi by 2021, when Delhi Metro is expected to complete its expansion under phase 4.

Pankaj Agarwal, joint secretary, Delhi RWA joint front, said: "If these colonies get connectivity with Metro stations, a large number of people would switch from cars to Metro for commuting."

In phase 3, Delhi Metro will construct four corridors covering 120 km in Delhi and NCR towns and add about 20 lakh commuters to the fleet which presently registers 18 lakh-20 lakh commuters per day day.

Of these, three corridors —Janakpuri West-Botanical Garden, Mukundpur-Yamuna Vihar and Jahangirpuri-Badli — would provide direct connectivity to the 15 colonies.