IPR: Govt mulls action against 127 IAS officers | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

IPR: Govt mulls action against 127 IAS officers

delhi Updated: Aug 05, 2012 12:10 IST
Immovable Property Returns

The Centre is considering action against 127 IAS officers for failing to submit their Immovable Property Returns (IPRs) of last year to the government.

"The government is mulling action against the officers who have not yet given their IPRs. It can include withholding increment and appointments," a senior official of the department of personnel and training (DoPT) said.

Of the total 127 IAS officers who have not submitted their property details, 32 are from Madhya Pradesh cadre, 16 from Uttar Pradesh, 14 from Punjab and 12 from Odisha cadre, according to the latest data of DoPT.

Others who have failed to submit their IPRs belong to Andhra Pradesh cadre (8), Haryana and Karnataka (7 each), Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Mizoram, Uttarakhand, Nagaland and Manipur-Tripura (4 each), West Bengal (3), Assam and Tamil Nadu (2 each) and Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Kerala, Sikkim and Rajasthan (1 each).

The total sanctioned strength of IAS is 6,154, including 1,885 promotion posts. Of these, 4,377 officers are in position.

An all-India service officer is bound to file property returns of a year by January end of the following year.

Besides these officials, there are 216 other IAS officers who did not submit IPRs for the year 2010.

Among these officials, 30 officers are from West Bengal cadre, 24 from Karnataka, 19 from Jammu and Kashmir, 17 from Bihar, 16 from Madhya Pradesh, 13 from Odisha, 10 each from Uttar Pradesh and Manipur-Tripura cadre and eight each from Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Mizoram, union territories and Uttarakhand cadre.

Seven IAS officers of Punjab cadre, 6 of Himachal Pradesh, 5 of Kerala, 4 each of Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat and Haryana, 3 each of Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand and 2 each of Assam, Sikkim and Nagaland and 1 each of Tamil Nadu, Rajasthan and Maharashtra have not submitted their IPRs for 2010, according to the DoPT data.