Jaganmohan carries the day in Kadapa | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 20, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Jaganmohan carries the day in Kadapa

delhi Updated: May 14, 2011 02:17 IST
HT Correspondents
HT Correspondents
Hindustan Times
New Delhi

The Congress could not replicate its remarkable performance of the general elections on Friday in the bypolls in five states. And the BJP has maintained its good showing in Karnataka despite corruption charges against the government.

Andhra Pradesh

In his long-drawn struggle with the Congress ever since his father’s death, Jaganmohan Reddy has won the first round with resounding victory in the Kadapa Lok Sabha constituency by more than 543,000 votes.

This election was a prestige issue for the Congress, which fielded 15 ministers to campaign for its candidate.

The Congress and the Telugu Desam Party candidates lost their deposits. In the Pulivendula assembly seat, Jagan’s mother, Vijayamma won with a record margin of over 85,000 votes.


Chief minister BS Yeddyurappa got a shot in the arm on Friday with the BJP winning all the three assembly bypolls, wresting two seats from Congress and one from JD(S).

BJP candidate CP Yogeshwar won by 12,000 votes in Channapatna in Ramanagarm district, defeating his nearest rival of JD(S) SL Nagaraj in the elections held on April 9. The BJP’s S V Ramachandra bagged Jagalur (reserved for ST) in Davangere district by defeating HP Rajesh (Independent and BJP rebel) by 4,433 votes.

BJP’s M Narayanswamy took the Bangarpet seat by defeating KM Naryanaswamy of the Congress by 4,044 votes.

Uttar Pradesh

The Samajwadi Party won the Pipraich (Gorakhpur) assembly seat, which had fallen vacant following the death of BSP MLA Jamuna Prasad Nishad in an accident in November 2010.


The BJP retained the Bastar Lok Sabha seat in Chhattisgarh and won it for the fifth consecutive time. BJP candidate Dinesh Kashyap defeated his nearest rival Kaswasi Lakhma of the Congress by 88,884 votes.


Former Nagaland CM and senior Congress leader SC Jamir lost the Aonglenden assembly bypoll to ruling Naga People’s Front candidate.