Jagdish Tytler withdraws, two way contest in Cong’s Northeast primary | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Jagdish Tytler withdraws, two way contest in Cong’s Northeast primary

delhi Updated: Mar 07, 2014 01:11 IST
HT Correspondent

Former union minister Jagdish Tytler has opted out from the primaries of the Northeast Delhi parliamentary constituency.

Delhi Pradesh Congress office said Tytler has informed AICC general secretary in-charge of Delhi Shakeel Ahmed and Delhi Congress chief Arvinder Singh about his decision.

This leaves sitting MP and former Delhi Congress chief Jai Prakash Agarwal and former MLA Rajesh Lilothia locking horns to become Congress party’s official candidate from North East Delhi parliamentary seat for the Lok Sabha elections scheduled on April 10.

Tytler, along with Agarwal and Lilothia, had filed their nominations to contest US-style primary to get the ticket to contest parliament elections.

North East Delhi is among 16 parliament seats in the country where the Congress party is holding primaries to select candidate. Officer bearers of various Congress organisations, district and block level party workers and sitting and former elected representatives will be voting to select the candidate from that constituency.

According to Delhi Congress leaders, both Agarwal and Lilothia have been issued symbols for primary election to be held on March 11. The counting of votes will take place the same day, after which the winner’s name will be sent to the central election committee of the Congress party for final consideration and announcement. The nomination process for Lok Sabha elections will start from March 15.

According to sources, Tytler had a meeting with senior party leaders late Wednesday evening after which he withdrew his nomination. “His nomination would have been rejected by the party leaders only because of a case pending against him in the court,” a source said. Tytler is an accused in 1984 anti-Sikh riots in Delhi, a charge he denies.

In 2009, the Congress party had decided to field Tytler but his ticket was later cancelled following city wide protests against his candidature. The party instead gave ticket to Agarwal who defeated BJP’s Baikunth Lal Sharma by almost two lakh votes.