JPC members from Rajya Sabha named | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

JPC members from Rajya Sabha named

delhi Updated: Mar 01, 2011 15:53 IST
Telecom Minister Kapil Sibal

Telecom Minister Kapil Sibal on Tuesday moved motion in Rajya Sabha for setting up of JPC into 2G spectrum allocation.

The Rajya Sabha members for the Joint Parliamentary Committee (JPC) to probe the spectrum scam and the telecom policy are - PJ Kurien, SS Ahluwalia and Ravi Shankar Prasad (BJP), Jayanti Natarajan.

Their nomination will complete the JPC, which has 20 Lok Sabha members.

The Lok Sabha nominated 20 members to the committee last week.

After the Rajya Sabha adopts the motion to constitute the committee, a chairperson will be nominated by Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar.

The JPC will examine, among other things, the policy pursued by successive governments in the allocation and pricing of telecom licences and spectrum from 1998 to 2009.