JPC members from Rajya Sabha to be named | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

JPC members from Rajya Sabha to be named

delhi Updated: Mar 01, 2011 14:10 IST

The 10 Rajya Sabha members for the Joint Parliamentary Committee (JPC) to probe the 2G spectrum scam and the telecom policy are to be announced on Tuesday.

Their nomination will complete the JPC, which has 20 Lok Sabha members.

The Rajya Sabha representatives in the JPC are likely to be P J Kurien, Abhishek Manu Singhvi and Praveen Rashtrapal (Congress), Tiruchi Siva (DMK), Yogendra P Trivedi (NCP), S S Ahluwalia and Ravi Shankar Prasad (BJP), Ramchandra Prasad Singh (JD-U), Satish Chandra Misra (BSP) and Sitaram Yechury (CPI-M).

The Lok Sabha nominated 20 members to the committee last week.

After the Rajya Sabha adopts the motion to constitute the committee, a chairperson will be nominated by Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar.

The JPC will examine, among other things, the policy pursued by successive governments in the allocation and pricing of telecom licences and spectrum from 1998 to 2009.