K'taka crisis: Yeddyurappa's show of strength today | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

K'taka crisis: Yeddyurappa's show of strength today

delhi Updated: May 17, 2011 09:08 IST

Karnataka chief minister BS Yeddyurappa will parade the 121 MLA, who came along with him to Delhi on Monday, before President Pratibha Patil today to prove his majority and demand for removal of Governor HR Bhardwaj who has recommended dismissal of his government to the Centre.

"Governor of Karnataka has been trying to destabilise our government right from beginning. We request President and Prime Minister to save Karnataka, to save democracy by recalling the Governor," Yeddyurappa said.

Yeddyurappa and BJP MLAs, MLCs and MPs from Karnataka reached Delhi in three separate aircraft last evening with a plea to the President to "save democracy by recalling the Governor". "Opposition Congress and the JD(S) want to get rid of our government illegally.

We will meet Rashtrapatiji tomorrow with MLAs, MLCs and MPs of our party," he said on Monday. Steeping up their campaign against Bhardwaj, NDA leaders met Prime Minister Manmohan Singh who assured them that nothing unconstitutional will be done in Karnataka.

"The NDA strongly condemns the action of Governor of Karnataka in sending a report to the central government. The Governor's conduct is partisan. It defies all constitutional norms and principles. There is absolutely no doubt that the Yeddyurappa government enjoys an overwhelming majority in the Assembly," senior BJP leader Arun Jaitley said.

He maintained that as a result of the Supreme Court judgement, the 11 suspended MLAs have been held to be members of the BJP and were bound by its whip. Jaitley said that the 11 suspended MLAs have taken back the letter they wrote on October 6, 2010 withdrawing support to the Yeddyurappa government. "The MLAs have themselves said that they support the government," he said. The BJP maintained that Yeddyurappa government enjoys clear majority in the 224-member assembly.