Lalu alloted front seat in the Lok Sabha | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lalu alloted front seat in the Lok Sabha

delhi Updated: Aug 04, 2009 00:47 IST
Highlight Story

RJD chief Lalu Prasad has been alloted the front seat in the Lok Sabha by Congress despite his party not being a part of the ruling UPA.

Government sources said Lalu is the only non-Congress leader who has been accommodated by the party from its quota.

Asked about former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda, who is leading the JD(S), they said it was for Speaker Meira Kumar to take a decision on his seat allocation.

As per convention, former Prime Ministers sit in the front row as did late Chandrasekhar for several years, Parliament sources said adding there was no rule in this regard.

Every party gets the seat as per the strength in the House, they said.

The Lok Sabha on Monday allotted the seat numbers, which are also Division numbers, for members.

Prasad's RJD was the second largest partner in the UPA in the last Lok Sabha. But in the recent elections, Prasad parted company with Congress and fought as "fourth front" with SP's Mulayam Singh Yadav and Ram Vilas Paswan of LJP.