Left, BSP and TDP leaders meet President | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Left, BSP and TDP leaders meet President

delhi Updated: Sep 09, 2008 15:54 IST

Highlight Story

Leaders of Left, BSP, TDP and other non-Congress and non-BJP parties on Tuesday met President Pratibha Patil to demand immediate convening of the Monsoon session of Parliament, accusing the government of "concealing" information regarding the Indo-US nuclear deal.

Charging the ruling coalition with subverting the Constitution by deciding to do away with the monsoon session and convening a combined session, the leaders said the UPA government was accountable and answerable to the people on various counts.

In a memorandum submitted to the President, they said while several assurances given in Parliament by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on the nuclear issue had been violated, crucial information had been "concealed".

The leaders also alleged that the government had failed to check burgeoning prices or the communal situation in Orissa and wanted it to convene the Parliament session for discussion on these issues.

The leaders who met the President included Sitaram Yechury and Basudeb Acharya (CPI-M), D Raja and Gurudas Dasgupta (CPI), Rajesh Verma and Satish Chandra Mishra (BSP), K Yerrannaidu and M Reddy (TDP), Danish Ali (JD-S), Abani Roy and Joachim Baxla (RSP) Debabrata Biswas (Forward Bloc).