Lok Sabha session from June 1 | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 18, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha session from June 1

delhi Updated: May 31, 2009 12:06 IST

Highlight Story

The new Lok Sabha, with a more dominant Congress heading a coalition having a comfortable majority with its allies, opens its first session on Monday whose highlight would be the election of the Speaker and unfolding of UPA government's plan of action.

The first two days of the 15th Lok Sabha has been kept for newly elected members to take oath followed by election of the Speaker on June 3.

While initial reports spoke of the possibility of senior Congress member V Kishore Chandra Deo as the most likely choice for the Speaker's post, Union Minister and Congress Dalit face has emerged the dark horse for the post.

President Pratibha Patil would address the joint sitting of both Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha on June four which would chart out the road map of the second term of the Manmohan Singh government which came to power with renewed mandate as Congress alone secured 206 seats. The party had 145 seats in the previous House.

With pre-poll allies, the UPA was almost near the majority mark of 272 and back by post-poll partners, the coalition strength has gone up to 322.

The post of Deputy Speaker is expected to be given to opposition but no formal discussions have been held on the issue and it would gain momentum after the newly elected members take oath.

The Lok Sabha will have seven sittings while the Rajya Sabha would commence its session from June 4.

After the President's address, the House would discuss and pass the motion of thanks to the President.

Seniormost Lok Sabha member Manikrao Gavit of Congress has been appointed Protem Speaker by President Pratibha Patil.

Gavit (75) will perform the duties of the Speaker till the election of a new Speaker on June three.

Nine-term member Gavit, who has a cumulative experience of 27 years and eight months in Lok Sabha, was elected from tribal constituency of Nandurbar in Maharashtra on a Congress ticket and served as Minister of State for Home in the UPA government.

The President also appointed a panel four senior members -- Basudeb Acharia (CPI-M), Arjun Charan Sethi (BJD), Biren Singh Engti (Congress) and Sumitra Mahajan (BJP) to administer oath to the newly elected members.