LS bypolls: BJP sweeps K'taka | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 20, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

LS bypolls: BJP sweeps K'taka

delhi Updated: May 13, 2011 20:31 IST

BJP today made a clean sweep of three assembly seats in Karnataka and retained a Lok Sabha constituency in Chhattisgarh while Congress drew a blank in the eight bypolls spread across five states.

Compounding Congress' woes in the bypolls was the defeat of its veteran leader and former Nagaland chief minister S C Jamir from Aaonglenden assembly seat and its failure to counter expelled leader Y S Jaganmohan Reddy in Kadapa Lok seat and his mother Vijaya Lakshmi in Pullivendula assembly constituency in Andhra Pradesh.

In Karnataka, ruling BJP wrested two of the three seats from Janatal Dal (S) and Congress and retained the Bastar seat in the Maoist-hit area of Chhattisgarh.

Jaganmohan strengthened his claim to his father's political legacy as he emerged triumhant in Kadapa with a margin of more than five lakh votes and his mother Vijaya Lakshmi romped home convincingly against her brother-in-law Vivekanada Reddy.

Jaganmohan secured 692,079 votes against Congress' challenger D N Ravindra Reddy's 146,577 votes in Kadapa, surpassing the margin with which his late father had won in the same constituency in the 1990s.

Jagan bettered his win margin of 1.78 lakh votes in his electoral debut in 2009. Vijaya Lakshmi got 110,098 votes to beat Vivekananda Reddy who managed just 28,725.

This was the first time Jagan and his mother contested elections since parting ways with Congress in November last year. Jamir's hope of return to Nagaland politics after a hiatus of nearly a decade due to gubernatorial assignments in Maharashtra and Goa were jolted when he lost the Aaonglenden assembly bypoll to ruling Naga People's Front (NPF) candidate Toshikopba Longkumer by over 1,300 votes.