Martyrs of Parliament attack remembered | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Martyrs of Parliament attack remembered

delhi Updated: Dec 13, 2009 14:32 IST

Vice President Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi and several MPs today remembered the martyrs who sacrificed their lives while repulsing a terror attack on Parliament eight years ago.

Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar and Leader of the Opposition L K Advani also paid floral tributes to the martyrs at a solemn ceremony at the Parliament House premises in New Delhi.

Five heavily armed gunmen had stormed Parliament on December 13, 2001 and opened indiscriminate fire, killing nine people. Among the dead were five Delhi Police personnel, a woman constable of the Central Reserve Police Force, two Rajya Sabha Secretariat officials and a gardener.

All five terrorists were shot dead.

The Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha had been adjourned but many MPs were still in the building.

A year later four terrorists were arrested for the attack and found guilty after trial.

Mohammad Afzal Guru was the only accused to be awarded the death penalty. The sentence has been stayed as his mercy petition is pending.