Ministers, leaders apologise to Vice President | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 30, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Ministers, leaders apologise to Vice President

delhi Updated: Mar 08, 2010 15:59 IST

Several Union Ministers and leaders of various political parties on Monday apologised to Rajya Sabha Chairman Hamid Ansari for the disrespect shown to him by some members and their unruly behaviour in the House on the issue of taking up the Women's Reservation Bill.

Minutes after Ansari adjourned the House following pandemonium over the issue of taking up the Bill for consideration by the House, the leaders and ministers met the Chairman.

Among those who met Ansari included Parliamentary Affairs Minister P K Bansal and Union Ministers P Chidambaram, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Anand Sharma Prithviraj Chavan as also Leader of the Opposition Arun Jaitley.

Maya Singh (BJP), Sitaram Yechury and Brinda Karat (both CPM), D Raja (CPI), Karan Singh and Rajiv Shukla (both Cong), Mysura Reddy (TDP), Bharat Kumar Raut (Shiv Sena), T Shiva (DMK) also met Ansari.

RJD, SP and BSP members created an uproar with some even trying to attack the Chairman amid unprecedented scenes over Women's Reservation Bill.