MLAs of deleted constituencies also accommodated | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

MLAs of deleted constituencies also accommodated

delhi Updated: Oct 26, 2008 00:41 IST
Atul Mathur
Atul Mathur
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The first list of candidates finalised by the Congress includes names of some sitting members whose original seats have been deleted in the delimitation process.

Relying on their past performance, the party has accommodated them by either shifting to a new turf or by offering them seats that include at least some portion of their earlier constituencies.

Anjali Rai, who won her last election from the Paharganj seat, will contest from Moti Nagar this time. Traditionally, a BJP stronghold, which returned former Delhi chief minister Madan Lal Khurana thrice to the assembly, Moti Nagar is expected to be a tough call for Rai. But she is optimistic.

“I have lived here for almost 30 years and even started my political career from this area. When my seat was deleted after the delimitation I consulted my seniors and decided to take up this seat as a challenge,” said Rai.

Ashok Ahuja has got the ticket from the Delhi Cantonment assembly constituency. Ahuja represented Sarojini Nagar, which is
another seat deleted in the delimitation.

“A large chunk of Sarojini Nagar area has been added to Delhi Cantt seat. I have done lots of development works in my area and I am positive of winning this seat,” said Ahuja.

The party has also accommodated Rajesh Lilothia, who won from the reserved seat of Baljeet Nagar in 2003, by giving him ticket from the Patel Nagar (reserved) assembly constituency.