Ninth anniversary of Parliament attack observed | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Ninth anniversary of Parliament attack observed

delhi Updated: Dec 13, 2010 12:45 IST
Vice-President Hamid Ansari

Vice-President Hamid Ansari today led the nation in remembering those who were killed in the 2001 terror attack on Parliament House.

Cutting across party lines, MPs paid homage to the nine people, including eight security personnel, killed in the attack when five heavily-armed terrorists entered the Parliament compound.

Ansari, who is also the Chairman of Rajya Sabha, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Speaker Meira Kumar, Congress chief Sonia Gandhi, Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj, Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee, BJP veteran L K Advani, several Union ministers and other dignitaries paid floral tributes at the photographs of those killed in the attack.

As CRPF personnel gave salute, those who had gathered to mark the occasion stood in silence for a minute with buglers playing in the background.

A blood donation camp was organised to mark the ninth anniversary.

"Their (the terrorists) conspiracy to attack Parliament where ministers and politicians were sitting ducks was foiled by these people. Had they succeeded, it would have been the biggest tragedy for Indian democracy," Advani told reporters after the homage programme.