None from Uttar Pradesh in Union Cabinet | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

None from Uttar Pradesh in Union Cabinet

delhi Updated: May 27, 2009 23:13 IST

Not a single MP from Uttar Pradesh, which saw revival of Congress in Lok Sabha polls with 21 seats, has found a berth the Union Cabinet.

As against this, Himachal Pradesh, which returned only one member, has been rewarded with two cabinet berths -- Virbhadra Singh and Anand Sharma.

UP has got only five ministers - two ministers of state with independent charge Sriprakash Jaiswal and Salman Khursheed and three MoS Jitin Prasada and RPN Singh and Pradeep Jain.

Uttarakhand, which was carved out of UP's hilly areas, has got only one entrant into the council of ministers -- Harish Rawat, despite Congress making a clean sweep of all the five seats in the state.

Maharashtra, which is going to assembly polls later this year, has been given the highest representation with ministerial berths including five in the cabinet.

The cabinet ministers from Maharashtra are Sharad Pawar of NCP, Vilasrao Deshmukh, Sushilkumar Shinde, Mukul Wasnik and Murli Deora (all Congress). It has two MoS with independent charge Praful Patel and Prithviraj Chavan and two MoS Gurudas Kamat and Prateek Patil.

Kerala, which gave a big boost to Congress tally, has got two cabinet berths AK Antony and Vayalar Ravi and four MoS Shashi Tharoor, Mullappally Ramachandran, KV Thomas and E Ahamed.