North civic body to reshuffle wards | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 05, 2016-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

North civic body to reshuffle wards

delhi Updated: Oct 23, 2012 01:23 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

To extend civic facilities like sanitation, community halls and streetlights to its residents in equal measure, the North Corporation has decided to reshuffle the wards of its six zones.

At present, zones like Rohini have 34 wards, while the City zone has just seven. Such distribution leads to unequal division of staff and work, which further delays facilities such as building sanction, sanitation and maintenance of parks.

“Some zones have to cater to a huge population, while others have fewer residents. We are trying to remove discrepancies,” said leader of the House, Mahender Nagpal.

The wards were reshuffled during trifurcation as well. Narela’s wards increased from eight to 10, Rohini’s decreased from 35 to 34, Civil Lines’ from 22 to 30, City’s from nine to seven and Karol Bagh’s from 11 to 15. Sadar Paharganj saw no change of its eight wards.

“The earlier reshuffling was done in a hurry to meet the municipal election date and so, some wards were included in faraway zones. We will correct the mistakes so that residents don’t face inconvenience anymore,” added Nagpal.

No deadline has been fixed for the reshuffling. But the committee is soon expected to come up with the report.

The concerns are to distribute not just the wards, but assets such as parks, community halls, schools and dispensaries among the various zones so that the residents of these areas have easy access to them.

Nagpal is a part of the committee set up by the mayor to form a strategy for the distribution.

The committee also consists of deputy mayor Azad Singh, standing committee chairperson Yogendra Chandolia, leader of opposition Mukesh Goyal and councillors Usha Mehta, VP Pandey, Ramesh Dutta and Virender Babbar.

Chief engineer Sanjay Jain and deputy commissioner of Civil Lines zone RS Meena are also part of the committee.