Odd-even: Only 2 MPs avail of special AC shuttle service today

  • PTI, New Delhi
  • Updated: Apr 25, 2016 14:46 IST
The ‘MP Special’ buses ply from 9 AM to 11 AM and 5.30 PM to 8 PM.

DTC’s MP Special Bus Service, launched by the Delhi government to ferry lawmakers to Parliament, found few takers on Monday morning.

Read more: Odd-even: Delhi govt running shuttles for MPs during Parliament session

In view of the Parliament Session, Delhi Government had on Sunday announced six air-conditioned special buses to ferry MPs and appealed to them to follow the odd-even scheme.

The ‘MP Special’ buses ply from 9 AM to 11 AM and 5.30 PM to 8 PM.

In the morning, BJP MPs Ranjan Bhatt and Hari Om Singh Rathore availed the ‘MP Special Bus Service’ to reach Parliament.

Read more: Odd-even shadow on Parliament, some MPs want exemption

However, BJP MP Paresh Rawal violated the odd-even rule by reaching the House in his even-numbered car following which he apologised to Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal.

“Made a serious blunder by travelling in a odd number car to Parliament ... Sorry to Arvind ji n Delhiite...(sic),” Rawal tweeted.

The BJP MP later tweeted a challan copy, saying he has paid a fine for violating the odd-even rule.

According to government, a help desk has also been set up in Parliament premises to assist lawmakers in availing the bus service.

A senior government official said that keeping security of MPs in mind, some security personnel will also be deployed in these buses.

Members of Parliament have not been given exemption under the odd-even scheme, the second phase of which started on April 15 and will end on April 30.

The violation of the car-rationing scheme attracts a penalty of Rs 2,000.

The President, The Prime Minister, The Vice-President, union ministers, the Chief Justice of India, judges of high courts, women among others are exempted under it.

also read

Ben 10, Kareena Kapoor cracker covers add to Diwali flavour
Show comments