Officials appointed for DUSU elections | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Officials appointed for DUSU elections

delhi Updated: Aug 03, 2013 23:31 IST

Highlight Story

Delhi University (DU) has announced names of officials who will be conducting elections for the office bearers and members of the central council of the DU Students’ Union (DUSU) for 2013-14.

Ashok Vohra from the department of philosophy has been appointed chief election commissioner, while DS Rawat from the department of chemistry is chief returning officer.

Deputy Dean of university information centre Satish Kumar was named returning officer.

The appointments have been made by DU Vice Chancellor Dinesh Singh.

The V-C has also appointed principals of colleges and heads of institutions affiliated to DUSU as election officers in their respective colleges and institutions, said the statement.

DUSU is the representative body of students from most colleges and faculties. Apart from this, each college has its own students union to which elections are held every year.

The elections are by direct voting by the students of the university and member colleges.