Padma Bhushan for Aamir, Padma Shri for Sehwag | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Padma Bhushan for Aamir, Padma Shri for Sehwag

delhi Updated: Jan 25, 2010 17:44 IST

Bollywood superstar Aamir Khan is understood to have been selected for the Padma Bhushan award on the occasion of 60th Republic Day.

Cricketer Virendra Sehwag and Badminton star Saina Nehwal have been chosen for the Padma Shri awards along with

At a glance

Padma Shri

Saif Ali Khan
Ms Anu Aga
Vijender Singh
Ignace Tirkey
Narayan Karthikeyan
Saina Nehwal
Ramakant Achrekar
Virender Sehwag

Padma Vibhushan

Aamir Khan
A R Rahman
Ilaiyaaraa Raja
Dr Ramakant Panda
Venkatraman Ramakrishnan
Prathap Chandra Reddy
Y Venugopal Reddy
Fareed Zakaria
Umayalpuram K Sivaraman

yesteryear Bollywood diva Rekha and actor Saif Ali Khan.

Film music maestros A R Rahman, Ilaiyaaraa Raja and noted cadiac surgeon Dr Ramakant Panda are chosen for Padma Bhushan.

Nobel laureate Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, Apollo hospital chief Prathap Chandra Reddy and former RBI Governor Y Venugopal Reddy named for Padma Vibhushan, the second highest civilian honours.

Yesteryear Bollywood diva Rekha, Ms Anu Aga, hockey national Ignace Tirkey, Formula 1 driver Narayan Karthikeyan, Badminton star Saina Nehwal and Sachin Tendulkar's guru Ramakant Achrekar named in the Padmashri list.

Highly-placed sources said that eminent theatre and film personality Johra Sehgal is also likely to be given "Padma Shri".

44-year-old Khan, who made his directorial debut with the critically-acclaimed "Taare Zameen Par" in 2007, recently came out with "3 Idiots" that has become the highest-earning movie in Bollywood.