Parties field councillors for mayoral battle | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 08, 2016-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Parties field councillors for mayoral battle

delhi Updated: Apr 27, 2012 01:01 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The BJP on Thursday fielded senior councillors Meera Aggarwal, Savita Gupta and Anna Purna Mishra for the post of mayors in North, South and East Delhi Municipal Corporations respectively.

Due to its thumping success in the civic polls, the BJP is sure to get its mayors elected in East and North Delhi. But the sailing may not be so smooth in South Delhi.

In South, BJP candidate Savita Gupta has to compete against INLD candidate Seema Pandit and NCP candidate Phul Kali in the mayor elections on May 2.

While INLD is understood to have filed their nomination without support of any major political party, NCP has tied up with the Congress for the top post.

For East and North Delhi, no other candidates have filed nominations against the BJP candidates, making their victory certain in the elections.

Elections to the North Delhi Corporation will be held at the Civic Centre on April 30. For the East Delhi Corporation, elections are scheduled a day later at Udyog Sadan in Patparganj.

The South Delhi Corporation will conduct the elections on May 2 at the Civic Centre .

For the post of deputy mayor in South, BJP has tied up with BSP to field a BSP candidate and INLD has fielded their candidate independently. In North Delhi, Azad Singh and in East Delhi Usha Shastri has filed nominations for the same post.

The BJP also declared the Leader of the House for the three corporations.

Party chief Vijendra Gupta said that Subhash Arya would serve on the post in South Delhi, Mahendra Nagpal in North Delhi and BB Tyagi in East Delhi.