PCRF-HT RTI awards enter second year | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 23, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

PCRF-HT RTI awards enter second year

delhi Updated: Jun 15, 2010 23:15 IST

For the second year, nominations for the Right to Information awards, instituted by Public Cause Research Foundation and Hindustan Times are being invited. The awards are to honour the individuals who are keeping protecting the freedom of information.

There are six awards in four categories — an Information Commissioner who enforced RTI Act strictly, two Public Information Officers who provided correct and complete information, and two citizens who used RTI and created public impact. A new category has been added for one journalist who used RTI to report on public issues.

A person can apply himself or can be recommended by someone else.

Jury members include Aamir Khan, N R Narayana Murthy, former Chief Justice JS Verma, Former Chief Election Commissioner J.M. Lyngdoh, senior advocate Fali S. Nariman, Mallika Sarabhai, badminton champion Pullela Gopichand, journalists Madhu Trehan and Prannoy Roy of NDTV.

This year, an RTI Awards Committee (RAC) consisting of sixty-five eminent RTI activists from almost all states has been set up and will monitor the entire awards process.