PM to head Cabinet Committee on infrastructure | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 27, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

PM to head Cabinet Committee on infrastructure

delhi Updated: Jul 11, 2009 11:31 IST

The government on Saturday constituted a high-powered Cabinet Committee on infrastructure to be chaired by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

The constitution of the committee comes in the backdrop of the government according high priority to infrastructure development and seeing it as a key to economic growth.

Besides the Prime Minister, other members of the committee would be Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee, Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar, Railway Minister Mamata Banerjee, Power Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde, New and Renewable Energy Minister Farooq Abdullah, Urban Development Minster S Jaipal Reddy, Road Transport Minister Kamal Nath, Telecom Minister A Raja, Rural Development Minister C P Joshi, Housing and Poverty Alleviation Minister Kumari Selja, Shipping Minister G K Vasan and Parliamentary Affairs Minister P K Bansal.

Planning Commission Deputy Chairman Montek Singh Aluwalia, Minister of State for PMO Prithviraj Chavan and Civil Aviation Minister Praful Patel will be special invitees to the committee.