Polling to 85 Lok Sabha seats tomorrow | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 20, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Polling to 85 Lok Sabha seats tomorrow

delhi Updated: May 06, 2009 11:30 IST
Highlight Story

As many as 9.46 crore voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the fourth phase of Lok Sabha polls on Thursday in which the fate of BJP President Rajnath Singh, Congress' Pranab Mukherjee, SP chief Mulayam Singh Yadav and RJD supremo Lalu Prasad would be decided.

A total of 1,315 candidates, including 119 women, are in the fray in this penultimate phase of elections that will witness polling to 85 Lok Sabha seats in eight states and union territories.

Votes will be cast across 1.29 lakh polling booths, which would be manned by over six lakh election officials. Polling would be held between 0700 hrs and 1700 hrs.

At the end of the fourth phase, elections would be completed to 457 of the 545-member Lok Sabha. Polls are held only to 543 seats, as two members are nominated from the Anglo-Indian community.

Some of the prominent candidates in this phase of polls include NC's Farooq Abdullah, Congress' Kapil Sibal (Chandni Chowk), Sachin Pilot (Ajmer), Shekhar Suman (Patna Saheb), Ajay Maken (New Delhi), BJP's Shatrughan Sinha (Patna Saheb), HJC's Bhajan Lal (Hisar) and RLD's Ajit Singh (Baghpat).

Polling to all the 25 seats in Rajasthan, 10 in Haryana and seven in Delhi will be completed at one go.