Pro-incumbency patterns in bypolls | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Pro-incumbency patterns in bypolls

delhi Updated: Jun 16, 2012 01:20 IST
HT Correspondents
HT Correspondents
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

A pro-incumbency tilt was visible on Friday in Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Maharashtra, MP, West Bengal and Tripura, where the ruling party candidates won the bypolls held in June.

The balance of legislators in the Kerala assembly tilted in favour of the UDF as Congress candidate R Selvaraj, emerged winner in the Neyyattinkara bypoll.

In MP, the BJP's Rajkumar Mev defeated his nearest Congress rival by 31,766 votes. It is for the first time that the BJP won from Maheshwar, a Congress stronghold since independence.

The AIADMK candidate in Tamil Nadu won the Pudukottai byelection by 101,998 votes in a straight fight with the DMDK, the party of actor Vijayakanth.

The Trinamool Congress opened its account in UP by winning the Mat assembly bypoll. The party won both the seats in West Bengal.

In Maharashtra, the NCP retained Kej. The ruling CPI(M) in Tripura kept the Nalchar seat.

In Hatia in Jharkhand, the All Jharkhand Students' Union candidate defeated his nearest rival of the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha.

With inputs from Chennai, Thiruvanathapuram, Indore and PTI