Race for vigilance panel top post hots up | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Race for vigilance panel top post hots up

delhi Updated: Jan 10, 2010 23:48 IST
Manish Tiwari
Manish Tiwari
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The government is in the final stages of appointing two vigilance commissioners for the country’s top anti-corruption watchdog, the Central Vigilance Commission (CVC).

The posts fell vacant in November last. The process started after former IPS officer Sudhir Kumar and former chairperson of NABARD Ranjana Kumar retired from their respective posts.

The IPS officers whose names are under consideration include director general of the Central Reserve Police Force A.S. Gill, commissioner of the Bureau of Civil Aviation Security R.R.P.N. Sahi and former director general of the Border Security Force M. L. Kumawat, a senior official said.

Both Gill and Sahi are due to retire by the end of this month.

Similarly, four top contenders for the other vigilance commissioner post (generally held by a former Public Sector Undertakings head) are: chairman and managing director of Andhra Bank R.S. Reddy, chairman and managing director of Canara Bank A. C. Mahajan, chairman of IDBI bank Yogesh Agarwal and deputy governor of the Reserve Bank of India Usha Thorat.

“Of all the contenders, two names from each category are generally shortlisted and placed before Prime Minister, home minister and the leader of opposition for the final decision,” the official added.

Before his appointment in the CVC, Sudhir Kumar, a 1968 batch IPS officer, had retired from the post secretary (security) in May 2005. He also served in different capacities in his parent cadre of Maharashtra till 1980 before joining the intelligence bureau on deputation. Both Sudhir Kumar and Ranjana Kumar were appointed in November 2005 and retired after four years.

Former IAS officer Pratyush Sinha, who is due to retire in September this year, is currently heading the three-member commission. Sinha took over as the CVC commissioner in September 2006 after the retirement of P. Shankar.

A proposal to raise the tenure of the commission members from existing four years to five years or 65 years of age (which ever is earlier) with a view to bring about parity with other similar commissions is also under consideration.

“A proposal is under the government’s consideration to amend the CVC Act in this regard,” the official said.