Raje, Varun, Siddhu, Irani, Hema Malini in BJP's new team | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Raje, Varun, Siddhu, Irani, Hema Malini in BJP's new team

delhi Updated: Mar 16, 2010 18:04 IST

Three months after he took over reigns of the party, BJP President Nitin Gadkari on Tuesday brought in a mix of youth, experience and women in his team of office bearers inducting heavyweights like Vasundhara Raje and Ravishankar Prasad and hardliners like Varun Gandhi and Vinay Katiyar.

Gadkari, who was considered as an RSS choice when he replaced Rajnath Singh, has also given positions to some
leaders said to be close to the sangh parivar founthead.

Among them are Bhagat Singh Koshiyari (Vice President), Murlidhar Rao (Secretary) and Tarun Vijay, who was
Editor of RSS mouthpiece "Organiser", as spokesperson.

Prominent Muslim face and three-time MP Shahnawaz Hussain, who was widely tipped to become a General Secretary,
has been appointed as Spokesperson while Najma Heptullah has been retained as Vice President.

Raje, former Rajasthan Chief Minister who was unseated as Leader of the Opposition after the Lok Sabha
debacle, and Prasad, now now the Chief Spokesperson, have been appointed new General Secretaries.

Gandhi, who landed himself in controversy for his hate speeches during the Lok Sabha elections, has now now been
inducted as one of the 15 Secretaries while Katiyar, a former General Secretary, has become one of the 11 Vice Presidents.

LK Advani-loyalist Ananth Kumar, Vijay Goyal and Thavarchand Gehlot, have been retained as General Secretaries
while former Jharkhand Chief Minister Arjun Munda, Dharmendra Pradhan, Narendrasingh Tomar and Jagat Prakash Nadda are the new General Secretaries.

RSS pointspersons Ram Lal (General Secretary-Organisation), V Satish and Saudan Singh (Joint General
Secretaries - Organisation) have been retained.