Sajjan Kumar 1984 riots case: chronology | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 23, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sajjan Kumar 1984 riots case: chronology

delhi Updated: Apr 30, 2013 18:13 IST

Congress leader Sajjan Kumar was on Tuesday acquitted in a 1984 anti-Sikh riots case by a Delhi court which held five others guilty for murdering five Sikhs and rioting after the assassination of then Prime Minister Indira Gandhi.

Following is the chronology of events:

Oct 31, 1984: Indira Gandhi shot dead by her two body guards at her residence.

Nov 1-2: Mob kills five Sikhs- Kehar Singh, Gurpreet Singh, Raghuvender Singh, Narender Pal Singh and Kuldeep Singh- in Raj Nagar area of Delhi Cantonment as anti-Sikh riots break out in the Capital.

2000: GT Nanavati Commission set up to probe riots related cases.

Dec 2002: Sajjan Kumar is acquitted by a Sessions Court in one of the anti-Sikh riot cases.

Oct 24, 2005: CBI registers another case on the recommendation of GT Nanavati Commission.

Jan 13, 2010: CBI files charge sheet before CMM in Tis Hazari Court. Case is transferred to Karkardooma Court.

Feb 1, 2010: Court issues summons against Kumar, Balwan Khokkar, Mahender Yadav, Captain Bagmal, Girdhari Lal, Krishan Khokkar, late Maha Singh and Santosh Rani, named as accused.

Feb 8: Delhi High Court appoints senior advocate R S Cheema as Special Public Prosecutor and directs day-to-day trial for concluding proceedings within six months.

Feb 15: Trial court rejects Kumar's anticipatory bail plea.

Feb 17: Court issues non-bailable warrants against Kumar.

Feb 23: CBI informs court that Kumar is non-traceable. Court directs CBI Director to supervise Kumar's arrest.

Feb 26: HC grants anticipatory bail to Kumar.

May 15: Trial court frames charges of murder, dacoity, mischief to cause damage to property, promoting enmity between different communities, criminal conspiracy and other sections of the IPC against the six accused.

July 1: CBI begins recording statements of 17 witnesses.

June 9, 2011: Prosecution evidence concludes.

August 1, 2011: Defence evidence begins, 17 witnesses examined, including six Delhi Police officials.

January 9, 2012: Defence evidence concludes.

Mar 31: CBI begins final arguments.

Apr 23: CBI concluded final arguments.

Aug 13: Defence counsel begins its arguments.

Feb 4: Defence concludes final arguments.

Apr 16: Court reserves judgement in the case.

Apr 30: Court acquits Kumar. Balwan Khokkar, Girdhari Lal and Captain Bhagmal held guilty for the offence of murder under section 302 IPC while Mahender Yadav and Kishan Khokkar stand convicted for the offence of rioting only.