Sibal to move motion for JPC on Feb 22 | delhi | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 27, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sibal to move motion for JPC on Feb 22

delhi Updated: Feb 18, 2011 23:21 IST
Saroj Nagi

Telecom minister Kapil Sibal is likely to move a motion on February 22 to set up a joint parliamentary committee (JPC) to look into the allocation of 2G spectrum.

According to the procedure, either the minister concerned or the parliamentary affairs minister is entitled to bring such a motion.

Possible names for chairing the panel include PC Chako and Kishore Chandra Deo.

The panel would be represented by seven to nine major parties like the Congress, BJP, Trinamool, Samajwadi Party, BSP, JD(U) and DMK, in keeping with the formula that takes into account their parliamentary strength.

However, there are bigger question involved. One is whether Prime Minister Manmohan Singh will intervene when the motion is brought and put on record what he said on the issue during his interaction with TV editors? Another is whether the JPC—when it is set up-can — call the Prime Minister. The PM has already said he is ready to appear before the panel.

As per rule, ministers do not appear before committees. But if the panel wants to call the Prime Minister or any minister, permission has to be first sought by the presiding officer.

Asked whether a JPC would be set up, parliamentary affairs minister P K Bansal said discussions with the opposition parties are “moving forward’’ and a decision would be taken before Wednesday.

The BJP’s demand to widen the JPC’s ambit to include other scams, however, is unlikely to be conceded as rules do not allow clubbing of issues and any motion for a JPC has to be definite and specific.

In his customary session-eve briefing, the parliamentary affairs minister released a list of 32 bills for introduction during the budget session, in which the much-talked about food security bill and the Lok Pal bill do not figure as they have not yet come before the Cabinet.

Yet the list includes bills which are not yet finalised by Sonia gandhi-headed National Advisory Council or cleared by the Cabinet.